
TOM GREEN COUNTY JUSTICE COURT PRECINCT 4 
RULES OF COURT 

 
1. GENERAL 
 
Jurisdiction/Duties of The Justice Courts:  
 
Civil cases (Small Claims/ Debt Claims) in which the amount in controversy is $20,000.00 or 
less. 
 
Eviction cases, both residential and commercial, including writs of reentry. 
 
Repair and Remedy $20,000.00 or less. 
 
Administrative hearings involving revocation of driver's licenses, occupational license, 
unlawful towing, emergency mental health, disposition of stolen/seized property, 
suspension or denial of handgun license, disposition of cruelly treated and dangerous 
animals, dangerous animals, environmental cases, etc. 
 
Criminal offenses which are fine only, both traffic and Class C misdemeanors. 
 
Peace Bonds 
 
Mental Health Cases 
 
Juvenile Cases 
 
School Attendance Cases 
 
Inquests 
 
Magistration 
 
All other cases permissible under Texas law, including Section 27.031-27.034 of the Texas 
Government Code.  
 
Jury Selection 
 
The Justice Court utilizes an electronic method of selecting names administered by the Jury 
Administrator with the Tom Green County District Clerk’s office. Questions about the jury 
impaneling process and jury service may be addressed to the Jury Administrator at 325 659-
6579. 
 
2. CIVIL CASES 



 
Justice Court Civil Cases 
 
All justice civil cases shall be filed in accordance with the Part V of the Texas Rules of Civil 
Procedure (TRCPJ, Rules of Practice in Justice Courts. There are four justice civil case types: 
Small Claims Cases, Debt Claim Cases, Repair 
and Remedy Cases, and Eviction Cases. 
 
E-Filing 
 
Justices of the Peace Precinct 4 currently provides e- filing services. 
 
Setting Cases 
 
All justice civil cases are to be brought to trial or final disposition as promptly as practicable. At 
any time, the Court may order a pre-trial conference. The court may enter an order or orders 
following each pre-trial conference, which would address any applicable matters. 
 
Transfer of Pending Civil Cases  
 
Transfer of cases will follow the procedures listed the Rules of Administration for Tom Green 
County Justices of the Peace. 
 
Mediation  
 
It is the policy of the Court to encourage the peaceful resolution of disputes and the settlement 
of pending litigation. The court shall determine which, if any, of its cases to refer to mediation. 
The court may refer the case for mediation. If the court does not designate a mediator in its 
order, the parties will receive a list of mediation services and will be required to agree on which 
mediation service will be used and report back to the court their choice. Any party receiving 
notice of a referral to mediation has 10 days from date of notice to file a motion objecting to 
the referral. If any party to a case files a motion objecting to the referral to mediation, and the 
Court finds that there is a reasonable basis for the objection, the case may be excused from the 
referral. If either party fails to appear for mediation or if no resolution is reached, the case is to 
be promptly set for trial.  
 
Demand for Jury 

 
A party requesting a civil jury trial shall file a written request and shall conform to 

the applicable rule to the court no later than 14 days before the date a case is set for 

trial. Either party shall be entitled to a trial by jury. The jury fee shall be paid at the 

time the request is submitted to the court. 

 



A party requesting a jury trial in an eviction must make a demand three (3) business 

days prior to the trial setting. 

 

Continuances  

 
Motions for Continuance should be filed not later than Thursday of the week preceding the 
hearing/trial and will be heard at the discretion of the court. The notice and pleading 
requirements of law must be followed. Continuances may not be heard thereafter unless they 
allege grounds which arose only after that time.  
 
Hearings Conducted by Video Conference 
 
At the discretion of the judge, a party or attorney may appear by video conference. A request by 
a party for such an arrangement must be made by a motion filed with the court three (3) 
business days in advance of the hearing and state reason for the request.  
 
At any time, even after the completion of a conference call, a judge may determine that a 
hearing by video conference will not be sufficient and may require a hearing in court upon 
notice to all parties. 
 
Provision and Costs of Copies 
 
In accordance with Part V of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure (TRCP), parties in Justice Court 
suits are responsible for providing an adequate number of copies of petitions and 
accompanying documents filed with the court for all parties being served. 
 
The Court may assess fees to the party who fails to comply with TRCP, in order to provide 
necessary copies of documents to parties being served. Fees for copies are $1 .00 for a titled 
document's first page and $0.25 for each additional page payable by check or credit card only. 
 
Provision of Self-Addressed, Postage-Paid Envelopes 
 
A party desiring to have file-stamped copies of any documents returned to them by mail, shall 
include with the original document to be filed an extra copy of the document and a self-
addressed, postage-paid envelope for the court's return. 
 
Postponing Trial/ Continuances 
 
When practicable, prior to filing a motion for postponement (continuance), the party seeking a 
postponement (continuance) in a justice civil case should attempt to confer with the opposing 
party or parties in an effort to secure an agreement to the delay. Requests for postponements 
(continuances) must be submitted in writing to the court at least three (3) business days 
preceding the date of the trial or hearing, unless it may be shown that the grounds for the 



request arose thereafter. Motions for postponement (continuance) may be granted or denied 
with or without a hearing by the court. 
 
Conflicting Engagements of Attorneys 
 
An attorney who is, or is scheduled, to be in trial in another court, will, in writing and as soon as 
the conflict becomes apparent, inform the Justice Court of the case number and the court in 
which the conflicting case is being tried. When informed that an attorney is in trial, the Court 
will verify the assignment. The case will be placed on "hold" or reset, depending upon the 
circumstances. If the attorney is not actually in trial or scheduled for trial as represented by the 
attorney or agent, the case may be tried without further notice. 
 
Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel 
 
An attorney of record may withdraw from representation of a party only upon written motion 
for good cause shown. If another attorney is to be substituted as attorney for the party, the 
motion must provide the contact information for the substituting attorney. If no other attorney 
is to be substituted, the motion must be delivered to the party and contact information for the 
party must be provided in the motion. 
 
Recording or Broadcasting of Court Proceedings 
 
Unless written permission is obtained from the Justice of the Peace, recording or broadcasting 
of court proceedings is prohibited. 
 
Assignment and Transfer of Cases 
 
Notwithstanding other provisions of law regarding venue, a justice civil case, shall be heard by 
the court in which the case was filed, unless presented with a proper motion by a party in 
accordance with Part V of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, at which time the motion will be 
set for a hearing, if required by the court. If the motion is granted, The Justice of the Peace will: 
 
(1) transfer the case to another Justice Court either in same Precinct and County, or another 
Precinct or County having proper venue and jurisdiction 
(2) if the Justice of the Peace is disqualified to hear the case, assign the case to the nearest 
qualified Justice of the Peace in the county by exchanging benches 
 
An Order transferring the case shall identify the Court to which the case is being transferred 
and a copy of the Order shall be delivered to each party or their attorney of record. If the 
motion is denied, the case will be heard in the court in which the plaintiff initially filed suit. 
 
Dismissal for Want of Prosecution by the Court 
 
Case Selection 



 
The following cases are eligible for dismissal for want of prosecution sua sponte by the Court: 
 
(1) Cases on file for more than 45 days in which service has not been perfected or no answer 
has been filed; 
(2) Cases that have been on file for more than 6 months that are not set for trial and have had 
no filings or settings within the prior 60 days; 
(3) Any other case designated by the Court. 
 
 
Notice 
 
The court clerk shall give notice that certain cases will be dismissed for want of prosecution and 
a hearing will be set.  
 
Procedures for Retaining Cases and Objecting to Motions to Retain 
 
(a) Motions to retain shall be filed with the Court at least 10 business 
days prior to the date of the hearing for dismissal for want of prosecution. 
(b) Any party who files a motion to retain shall state in writing the factual and legal basis why 
the case should not be dismissed for want of prosecution. 
(c) Parties objecting to a motion to retain shall state in writing the basis for any objection to the 
motion to retain within 3 days of service of a motion to retain. 
(d) The Court may rule on the motion with or without a hearing; parties wanting to provide oral 
argument shall request a hearing in their motion or objection 
(e) The Court shall notify all parties of the Court's ruling on the motion. 
 
Retained Cases 
 
If the Court decided to retain the case, the Court will set the case for trial at the convenience of 
the Court. The Court will notify the parties of the setting. At the setting, the case will be tried or 
dismissed. 
 
Includes All Pending Claims 
 
References in this chapter to a "case" include all pending claims in the case. 
 
Drafts of Judgments and Orders by Parties in a Suit 
 
So far as practicable, every draft of a judgment or order to be signed by a judge should be 
approved as to form by attorneys for all parties before it is presented to the judge. A draft of an 
order shall not be typed on the same page with a pleading, motion, certificate of service, or any 
part thereof, and each such draft shall have a heading showing the cause number, the style of 
the case, and the court in which it is pending. 



 
The word "entered" should not be used in the line provided immediately above the judge's 
signature to show the date on which a judgment or order is signed. 
 
The court may choose to use its own order. 
 
Agreed Motions 
 
All agreed motions submitted to the court shall be signed by all parties in the case. 
 
Holidays and other Temporary Closures 
 
When any date mentioned in these rules falls on a court holiday or a date when the court is 
temporarily closed, then the applicable date shall be the first business date following the 
holiday or temporary closure. 
 
3. CRIMINAL CASES 
 
Filing of Criminal Cases  
 
Justice Court cases shall generally be filed:  
 

(1) In the precinct where the offense is alleged to have occurred; or  

(2) In the precinct in which the defendant resides.  
 
Transfer of Pending Criminal Cases  
 
Transfer of cases will follow the procedures listed the Rules of Administration for Tom Green 
County Justices of the Peace. 
 
Court Appearance  
 
Unless otherwise directed by the court, defendants shall appear at the Justice Court in which 
the case is filed, according to the date and time specified on their citation or summons. 
Subsequent appearances will be scheduled by the court in which the case is pending.  
 
Plea of Guilty or Nolo Contendere (No Contest) 
  
Defendants, or their attorney of record, may enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere at any 
time, with or without a plea agreement. Guilty and nolo contendere pleas may be made in 
person, at the bench, by mail, or other correspondence designated as acceptable by the 
presiding judge. In accordance with Article 27.14(c) of the Code of Criminal Procedure when a 



defendant makes a payment in full that payment constitutes a plea of nolo contendere by the 
defendant, even without a written plea.  
 
Plea of Not Guilty  
Defendants, or their attorney of record, may enter a plea of not guilty at any time. Upon 
entering a plea of not guilty the defendant may be set to either a pretrial docket or a trial 
docket. 
 

 a) Announcement/Pre-Trial Docket. Defendants/Attorneys may discuss their cases 
with a prosecutor, plead guilty or no contest to resolve the case, or reset the case 
for trial.  

 b) Pretrial Motions. Pretrial hearings are normally conducted in Class C cases on the 
day set by the individual court. Special pretrial settings must be requested and 
approved by the Court. Pretrial motions must be filed with the court 21 days prior 
to any pretrial hearing. The court will provide the motions to the county attorney. 
All pretrial hearings will be held on the day set unless a written State or Defense 
motion for continuance is granted.  

 c) Trial before the Court (TBC). Attorneys and defendants should not set a case for 
TBC unless the defendant and the State intend to waive jury. All cases shall be tried 
when set unless a written State or Defense motion for continuance is granted, or 
the judge resets for any reason within the court’s discretion.  

 d) Jury Trial. Defense attorney and/or defendant shall appear at the scheduled jury 
setting. State and Defense must either announce ready or file a written motion for 
continuance. A continuance should be filed at least the week prior to trial. If the 
defendant waives jury at the docket call, a written waiver, signed by counsel and/or 
defendant must be presented.  

  
 
An appearance bond (personal bond only) may be required by the presiding judge at the time 
such plea is entered.  
 
A defendant who refuses to enter a plea shall be deemed to have entered a plea of not guilty 
and set to a pretrial or trial docket.  
 
Setting of Cases  
 
The Justice Court in maintains its own criminal docket, which is available from the court. 
Attorneys or defendants may request a reset of an appearance no later than 72 hours before 
the setting, unless the circumstances justify the request for reset occur thereafter as 
determined by the presiding judge. The Justice Court may stipulate rules as to the number of 
resets allowed on specific types of cases. Court clerks are authorized to give the first request for 
continuance by either party, all others must be approved by the Judge. 



 
Pretrial  
 
Pretrials may be conducted in fine only offenses on any day prior to trial. Pretrial settings must 
be requested and approved by the Court. Pretrial motions must be filed and served on the 
County Attorney twenty-one (21) days prior to any pretrial hearing. All pretrial hearings will be 
held on the day set unless a written State or Defense motion for continuance is granted. All 
defendants must appear, in person, whether or not represented by an Attorney, per Texas Code 
of Criminal Procedure 28.0 I.  
 
Court Appointed Attorneys  
 
Indigent defendants are not entitled to a court appointed attorney, as a matter of law, when 
charged with an offense punishable by fine only.  
 
Withdrawal or Substitution of Counsel  
 
An attorney becomes an attorney of record in a misdemeanor case by listing his or her name on 
pleadings, by correspondence with the court indicating such, or by setting or resetting the case. 
He or she remains the attorney of record until relieved by written order of the court. If an 
attorney is to be substituted as an attorney for the party, the court must receive written 
notification of the substitution prior to continuing with the case. The notification shall include 
the original attorney’s information, the substitute attorney’s information, and the defendant’s 
information for whom the substitution is occurring.  
 
Agreed Motions 
 
All agreed motions submitted to the court shall be signed by all parties in the case. 
 
Conflicting Engagements of Attorneys 
 
An attorney who is, or is scheduled, to be in trial in another court, will, in writing and as soon as 
the conflict becomes apparent, inform the Justice Court of the cause number and the court in 
which the conflicting case is being tried. When informed that an attorney is in trial, the Court 
will verify the assignment. The case will be reset upon confirmation. If the attorney is not 
actually in trial as represented by the attorney or agent, the case may be tried without further 
notice. An attorney who requests a reset under this rule is responsible for ensuring the motion 
was granted by the presiding judge.  
 
Jury Trial 
 

Defense attorney and /or defendant shall appear at the scheduled jury trial setting. 

State and Defense must either announce ready or file a written motion for 



continuance. If the defendant waives jury at the docket call, a written waiver, signed 

by counsel and/or defendant must be presented. 

 
4. DECORUM 
 
Order 
 
All persons entering the courtroom are required to behave in a dignified and respectful manner. 
All persons shall refrain from any action that may be disruptive or any facial expressions, 
shaking or nodding of head or any other conduct that may express approval or disapproval of 
any testimony, statement or transaction in the courtroom. Order will be maintained at all 
times. 
 
Weapons are prohibited in the courtroom except for approved law enforcement personnel. 
Law enforcement officers that are a party to the case outside of their normal duties will not be 
permitted to have weapons in the courtroom. 
 
All persons entering the courtroom are subject to search. 
 
Violations of any rule may result in a reprimand from the judge, expulsion from the courtroom, 
or a finding of contempt punishable by three days in jail and/or a $100 fine.  
 
Opening Procedure 
 
Immediately before the scheduled time for the first court session on each day the bailiff shall 
direct all persons present to their seats and shall cause the courtroom to come to order. As the 
Judge enters the courtroom the bailiff or the court clerk shall state: "All rise."  
 
While everyone is still standing, the bailiff shall announce: " Tom Green County Justice of the 
Peace Court, Precinct 4 of is now in session, Judge “ _____ ” presiding. Please be seated. "  
 
Recess 
 
When the Judge announces a recess, the bailiff shall state: "All rise”. 
  
The bailiff shall remain standing until the Judge leaves the courtroom, whereupon the bailiff 
shall announce: "The Court is now in recess".  
 
In reconvening after a recess, the bailiff shall call the courtroom to order and request everyone 
to rise as the Judge enters and shall state: "Please be seated."  
 
General Rules of Courtroom Conduct 
All participants are expected to be in the courtroom before the scheduled time for the 
court session. When the bailiff calls the Court to order, complete order should be observed.  



 
The Judge or bailiff(s) shall have the right to remove or eject persons who fail to comply with 
these rules of conduct and decorum from the courthouse. 
As to all persons in the courtroom, there shall be:  
 

• no tobacco, tobacco substitute, vaping products/electronic cigarette use; 

• no chewing gum; 

• no excessively short pants, bare midriffs, tank tops, sunglasses, clothing that allows 
underwear/lingerie to be seen, bare feet or hats; 

• no untucked shirt tails; 

• no audible cell phones or electronic devices except cell phones approved by the court 
for evidentiary purposes or cell phones belonging to the presiding judge or bailiff(s); 

• no bottles, cups or beverage containers except court provided water, pitchers and cups 
or as otherwise permitted by the Judge; 

• no edibles; 

• no propping of feet on tables, chairs, railings, or other courtroom furniture or 
architectural features and fixtures; 

• no noise or talking that interferes with court proceedings; 

• no tape recorders, cameras or other electronic devices for recording proceedings 
without prior approval of the Judge, and any devices allowed in will be turned off; 

• no racist, sexist, obscene or profane language unless it is pertinent to a case and is 
elicited and quoting from facts in the case. 

• no packages, suitcases, boxes, shopping bags or containers without prior approval of the 
bailiff. 

 
The Judge, the attorneys, and other officers of the court will refer to and address the court 
officers and other participants in the proceedings respectfully and impersonally, as by using 
appropriate titles and surnames rather than first names, nicknames or terms of endearment.  
All officers of the court should dress appropriately for court sessions. 
 
Attorneys 
 
Attorneys should observe the letter and spirit of all canons of ethics, including those dealing 
with discussion of cases with representatives of the media and those concerning improper ex 
parte communications with the Judge.  
 
Attorneys should advise their clients and witnesses of Local Rules of Decorum that may be 
applicable.  
 
All objections, arguments and other comments by counsel shall be directed to the Judge or jury 
and not to opposing counsel or parties.  
 



Attorneys shall not attempt to reprimand witnesses, but rather request that the Judge 
reprimand a witness if the attorney feels a reprimand is necessary.  
 
While another party is addressing the Judge or jury, an attorney shall not stand for any purpose 
except to make an appropriate motion, request or objection to the Court. 
  
Attorneys should not approach the bench without leave of the court and must never lean on 
the bench. Any document(s) to be passed to the court shall be handed to the bailiff. 
 
Attorneys shall remain seated at the counsel tables at all times except: when the Judge enters 
and leaves the courtroom; when addressing the Judge or jury; and whenever it may be proper 
to handle documents , exhibits, or other evidence as approved by the court. 
 
Attorneys should anticipate any need to use or move furniture, easels, or other equipment, and 
should make advance arrangements with the Court.  
 
Tables should not be moved during court sessions, unless approved by the Judge. 
 
Self-Represented/Pro Se Litigants 
 
Individuals representing themselves without an attorney are to abide by the same rules of 
procedures and decorum as attorneys appearing before the Court. You must read and follow the 
Local Rules and Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Part V, Rules of Practice in Justice Courts. This 
includes, but is not limited to, providing notice of filings to other parties in your case as outlined 
in Rule 501.4 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 
Self-represented litigants are required to provide address, email, and telephone numbers at 
which they can be reached by Court personnel and opposing counsel. Failure to accept delivery 
or to pick up mail addressed to the address provided by a self-represented litigant will be 
considered constructive receipt of the mailed or delivered document and may be established by 
a postal service receipt for certified or registered mail or comparable proof of delivery. 
 
By proceeding without an attorney before the Court, individuals understand that the Judge may 
not, nor any Court personnel may not give legal advice. It is the responsibility of each individual 
to do their own legal research or seek out legal advice before coming before the Court. 
 
Electronic Devices 
 
Handheld electronic devices should not be used during court proceedings, other than those 
required for use during a hearing. This includes, but is not limited to, laptop computers, tablets, 
cellular phones and other devices such as smart watches, video games or devices used to play 
audio.  
 



Videography, photography, and audio recording are prohibited without permission from the 
presiding Judge during all court proceedings. This includes handheld devices such as tablets, 
cellular phones, and smart devices. 
A lockbox is provided for storage of these devices prior to entrance to the courtroom. 
 
Persons found violating this Rule may be held in contempt of court. The device may be 
confiscated by the Bailiff. 
 


